1. Religion & Spirituality

Haft-Sin Table

Naw-Ruz Traditional Decoration


The haft-sin (or the "Seven S's") is a deeply ingrained portion of Iranian Naw-Ruz celebrations. It is a table bearing seven traditional items starting with the letter "S". These displays are a source of pride for families who often put considerable effort into their appearance so as to be pleasing to visitors.

The traditional items are:

  • Sabza – Wheat, barley or lentils that have been allowed to grow for several days in a dish. They symbolize renewal and are often disposed of in running water after the celebrations, taking with it the bad influences of the previous year.
  • Sepand - Seeds of wild rue, generally burned as incense.
  • Sib – Apples, symbolizing beauty and health.
  • Sekka – Newly minted coins, symbolizing wealth.
  • Sir - Garlic cloves, symbolizing medicine.
  • Serka – Vinegar, symbolizing age and patience
  • Samanu – A thick, sweet paste made from wheat, oil, water, almonds and walnuts. Commonly eaten at the Naw-Ruz feast as well as distributed to neighbors. It symbolizes affluence.

Other common items that may also be included on the table (or substituted for some of the items above):

  • Solbol – Hyacinth, symbolizing the coming spring
  • Senjed – Druit fruit of the oleaster tree, symbolizing love
  • Somaq – Sumac berries, symbolizing sunrise, which is also commonly associated with renewal

Additional common decorations of the haft-sin table not starting with the letter "S" include:

  • Candles
  • Mirrors to reflect candlelight
  • Colored eggs, representing the fertility of spring
  • A holy book appropriate to the religion of the table's creator
  1. About.com
  2. Religion & Spirituality
  3. Alternative Religions
  4. Rituals and Practices
  5. Zoroastrianism
  6. The Haft-Sin Table of Iranian Naw-Ruz Celebrations

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.