1. Religion & Spirituality

Heptagrams / Septagrams

Seven-Sided Star Figures


Acute Heptagram Septagram
Catherine Beyer

Seven-pointed stars are known as heptagrams or septagrams. There are two different configurations for heptagrams, the acute heptagram, shown here, and the obtuse heptagram. In addition, the heptagon – a seven-sided polygon – can also represent the same things as a heptagram.

Astrological Significance

The ancient world recognized only seven planets: Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn, plus the Moon and Sun. (Uranus, Neptune and Pluto are not visible to the naked eye and thus were unknown.) The heptagram often reflects these seven planets.

This is particularly important in western occultism, where systems of correspondence were often based upon astrological correspondences. It was understood that each planet radiated certain influences. Understanding those influences directly is the realm of astrology.

But it was also accepted by many occultists that those influences were soaked up and re-projected by items that had connections with specific planets. For example, gold radiated success and perfection precisely because it corresponded to the sun, which radiates the same qualities.

Universal Balance

Because the planets are all represented equally in the heptagram, the symbol can also be one of balance, equally representing the seven great powers of planetary magic.

Furthermore, the pairing of the numbers three (spirituality, in reference to the Christian trinity) and four (physicality, in reference to the four elements and the four cardinal directions) can also represent universal balance.

Orientation can sometimes be important here. The points over four can symbolize spirit ruling matter, while four points over three can be physicality ruling spirit.

Days of the Week – Symbol of Completion

The heptagram can also represent the seven days of the week. In Judeo-Christian context, it can therefore be a symbol of completion, as the universe was wholly created within the seven-day week.
Read more: The Heptagram, Days of the Week, and Planetary Correspondences

Elven Star

The acute heptagram is sometimes called the Elven Star or the Faerie Star and has been widely adopted by the Otherkin – people who believe they are supernatural beings such as elves, faeries or dragons trapped in human bodies.

Enochian Angel Magic

Heptagrams and heptagons are commonly used in John Dee's system of Enochian angel magic, which is strongly rooted in sets of seven. The most famous example is Dee's Sigillum Dei Aemeth.

  1. About.com
  2. Religion & Spirituality
  3. Alternative Religions

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.